Martensville council a mix of incumbents, newcomers

Martensville Mayor Kent Muench will be chairing a new city council with a mix of veterans and newcomers when the newly-elected officials meet on Tuesday, November 1.
Incumbent city councillors Tyson Chllog, Bob Blackwell, Darren MacDonald and Jamie Martens will be joined this term by Debbie McGuire and Michael Cox.
Muench was acclaimed Mayor earlier this month.
The official election results, released by the Martensville election office, showed Chillog receiving the highest number of votes at 625.
McGuire was second with 511 and Cox was third with 500.
MacDonald received 497; Blackwell garnered 483 and Martens had 468.
The only incumbent councillor to not be re-elected was Travis Wiebe, who placed seventh in the race for the six seats at 425.
The other candidates in the race were Geoff Baker (352), Randy Elliott (294), Darnell Kuzek (258), Robert Postma (254) and Marcia Cross (220).

Incumbent councillor Terry Kostyna did not seek re-election.