Clavet Cougars dominate Biggar Blazers in playoff action

Biggar defensive back Chase McNulty knocks Clavet receiver Daemond Hazelwanter out of bounds at the one yard line

The defending 2A six-man provincial football champion Clavet Cougars served notice they are ready to make another run at the title with a convincing 69-18 win over the visiting Biggar Blazers on October 20.

The Cougars had finished the regular season undefeated, earning the right to host the 2-A 6-man Conference 1 vs 4 Playoff game.

The Cougars got on the scoreboard early as quaterback Koal Erixon hit receiver Ayden Cummins for a long 65 yard touchdown pass.

The visitors responded with an eight-yard touchdown run by Biggar quarterback Andon Hawkins.

The host team then established their dominance as Erixon would connect three touchdown passes to Connor Hathaway on the next three possessions.

Defender Carson Joyes gave the offence good field position after recovering a Blazer fumble on Biggar’s 33 yard line. The Cougars were quick to capitalize as receiver Prescott Senger made a highlight reel one-handed grab for a touchdown, giving Clavet a 40-6 first quarter lead.

In the second quarter Biggar scored on a 66 yard catch and run play by Ethan Egert while the Cougars scored on a touchdown run by Koal Erixon and a dramatic catch and run by Colby Joyes.

With the game well in hand the Cougars were able to give younger players valuable game experience in the second half as they cruised to a lopsided win.

But their next matchup will be more of a challenge.

Cougars Colby Joyes breaks away from attempted tackle to score on a 30 yard catch and run

The Cougars will need to be at the top of their game when they host the Lanigan Lazers from the highly competitive Conference 3 in the first round of the provincial playoffs on Saturday, October 27.

Lanigan advanced with a 43-31 win over Wynyard on Saturday to qualify for their first ever provincial playoffs. The Clavet Cougars have the advantage in playoff experience having played in seven provincial finals since 2007, winning five of those including last year’s championship against Dalmeny.