Finalists for WMBEXA Awards to be unveiled March 15

Prairie Sky Chamber of Commerce President Elise Hildebrandt

The top 25 finalists in the 2018 Warman-Martensville Business Excellence Awards (WMBEXA) competition will be unveiled at a luncheon in Warman on Thursday, March 15.
The Prairie Sky Chamber of Commerce (PSCC) made the announcement on Wednesday, March 7.
The top five finalists in five categories will be announced at the March 15 event.
The five business award categories include: Customer Service, Community Involvement, Non-Profit of the Year, New Business of the Year, and Business of the Year.
The winners in all categories will be announced at a gala event in Warman on Friday, May 4.
This is the third annual WMBEXA competition.
PSCC President Elise Hildebrandt said the awards are a “celebration” of businesses and the communities in the region as a whole.
“We’ve seen an increase in the number and quality of nominations for the awards,” said Hildebrandt. “I think that shows that people are familiar with the role of the chamber of commerce and are excited about the good things that are happening here.”
Hildebrandt said the amalgamation last year of the Warman and Martensville Chambers of Commerce to form the PSCC also helped raise the profile of the organization, both locally and provincially.
She said adding the non-profit business category to the list of awards is also positive.
“The non-profit sector does a tremendous amount of good work, and it’s often not recognized,” said Hildebrandt. “This award is aimed at showcasing their efforts.”

ABEX Awards nominations open

Nominations for the ABEX Awards open March 8 and close June 29.
The ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, are recognized across Saskatchewan as a mark of excellence by the business community. The ABEX Awards are the longest-running business recognition program of its kind and have been celebrating business excellence in Saskatchewan for 35 years.
This year the ABEX Awards categories are: New Venture, Growth and Expansion, Community Involvement, Innovation, Export, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Service, Marketing, and Priority Focus.
The Priority Focus award is presented to a Saskatchewan business that has gone above and beyond in demonstrating business excellence in an area that mirrors a select Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce policy priority. This year, that policy priority is Mental Health.
The award for Priority Focus will be presented to a company that has demonstrated commitment and dedication to recognizing and investing in psychological health and wellness in the workplace in a variety of ways, such as policy development, training and introducing new processes and services.
Additional awards are presented to the Business Leader of the Year, the Community Leader of the Year, and the Business of the Year.
Nominations will be accepted from March 8 until June 29 via the Saskatchewan Chamber website at
Nominations are adjudicated by an independent accounting firm, and Finalists and Winners are selected by an impartial judging committee made up of Saskatchewan business leaders, including past-Chairs of the Edwards School of Business, the Hill School of Business, Saskatchewan Polytechnic and Junior Achievement Saskatchewan.
The ABEX Awards ceremony will be taking place on October 20th at TCU Place in Saskatoon.