Penno elected to Radisson council

Bradley Penno was elected to Radisson town council in a byelection held Wednesday, December 6.
Penno won the two-way race handily, capturing 125 votes. Gerald Wiebe, the other candidate, received 36 votes.
Penno will join Mayor Dave Summers, Deputy Mayor Marion Fehr-Stead and Councilors Darren Harris, Michelle Dubyk, Kirk Maxwell and Suren Chetty at the town council table.
A referendum was held at the same time as the byelection to determine whether residents were in favour of the Town of Radisson purchasing the old school building and converting it to a town hall. The old school is currently being used as a private residence.
The majority of voters were overwhelmingly opposed to the suggestion. The vote was 155 opposed and 11 in favour. The referendum is non-binding on council. It was held in order to determine the feeling of the electorate.
The Radisson Town Hall was permanently closed in late November following an inspection done on the building by Topping Engineering. The structure was determined to be unsafe, and as a result Radisson Town Council had no other option than to shut the doors. The decision was made at the November 21, 2017 council meeting.

Radisson Mayor Dave Summers said all alternatives are on the table at the present time.
“We are considering all the options right now,” said Summers. “A group of people in town are talking about starting a fund raising campaign to build a new one on the same spot, “Fundraising is very important as the town does not have the funds to build one right now. We are directing the public to the Seniors Centre or the Communiplex for events.”