Boyko re-elected as Catholic board chair

Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools’ (GSCS) Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting, on November 6, at which Diane Boyko was re-elected chair of the board.
Trustee Wayne Stus, who represents rural areas around Saskatoon and the cities of Martensville and Warman, was elected vice-chair for the third consecutive year.
“This past year has been a challenging one for Catholic education in Saskatchewan to say the least,” said Boyko, referring to a funding reduction despite increased enrolment, changes to regulations for boards of education, and the controversial Theodore court-case ruling.
“Maintaining the confidence of my fellow trustees to represent the division means a lot to me. Our entire board and administration work very hard in the best interest of our students, parents, teachers and staff. It’s a privilege to represent them as chair.”
With 50 schools and over 18,000 students, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools is Saskatchewan’s largest Catholic school division, providing Catholic education from pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 in Saskatoon and area, Biggar, Humboldt, Martensville and Warman. We are rooted in faith, growing in knowledge and reaching out to transform the world.

Share on Facebook1Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone